When I was younger I thought that I would just naturally become the person I was meant to be. I believed that just by living  this uncertain life I have, I would just accumulate all the right experience needed for the growth that works make me into the person I foresaw in my head. I wish I knew neck then that that’s not how this works, that’s not how any of this works. You can’t trust the future that much. Not to the point where you entrust it with your most precious non-refundable gift: Your time. That is what you ultimately lose. The time you wasted believing that you will eventually figure everything out only to not be any more enlightened than you were before. You waste your time by falling into a job or a program of study that you have no interest in. You may tell yourself that it’s temporary but, that you’re going to stay until you “figure something out”. When that never comes, you just end up with a dark spot in your soul where your passion should be. Doing things this way just…. It makes you lazy. Lazy enough to rest on your laurels and give yourself to time in hopes of an epiphany of yourself in this temporary little life. I can imagine what I sound like from am outside perspective, but I say all this with the intention that the reader does not hesitate when it comes to self-discovery. I know it’s not too late for me or anyone but you do not want to have wasted time on your lists of regrets. This will be short and bittersweet. Please take control of your lives and just wait for things to happen or fall into place. You owe yourself more than that. 

Leave a Reply

