Daily Prompt: Scent

I walked out of the hospital the other day, my shift just ended and my feet was sure to be covered in blisters. I took 3 steps past the outside doors of the ER and that’s when I caught a familiar scent. I could never forget it. It’s not something you find in a cheap outlet mall, no fragrance in Sephora could match this. This was not just any scent, it was an essence. An essence of someone I have not seen in about 2 decades, a middle-school crush.  I’m taken back to the time I was enrolled in Jerry William’s Martial Arts class. There was a girl there who’s hair reminded me of those luxurious fur coats: soft, think, and shines in the sunlight. I forget her name but I could never forget her face, or her scent apparently. Now I’m back in present day and I’m looking for the source. I do a quick walkthrough around the ER but I can’t find her. I’m not sure what I’d do if I did. What would I say? I don’t think she would be receptive if I went to her and said, “Hey I caught a whiff of your scent that reminded me of that dirty ass dojo we use to go to years ago, wanna catch up?”. I don’t believe that would go well. Also, what would she look like? In my head, she’s a mature version of that brown-eyed girl who left a lasting impression on my sub-conscience, but reality doesn’t meet our expectations. She could be physically repulsive to me, suffer from a mental illness, be terminally ill, or probably just have bad breath.

I’m taken back to the time I was enrolled in Jerry William’s Martial Arts class. There was a girl there who’s hair reminded me of those luxurious fur coats: soft, think, and shines in the sunlight. I forget her name but I could never forget her face, or her scent apparently. Now I’m back in present day and I’m looking for the source. I do a quick walkthrough around the ER but I can’t find her. I’m not sure what I’d do if I did. What would I say? I don’t think she would be receptive if I went to her and said, “Hey I caught a whiff of your scent that reminded me of that dirty ass dojo we use to go to years ago, wanna catch up?”. I don’t believe that would go well. Also, what would she look like? In my head, she’s a mature version of that brown-eyed girl who left a lasting impression on my sub-conscience, but reality doesn’t meet our expectations. She could be physically repulsive to me, suffer from a mental illness, be terminally ill, or probably just have bad breath. Maybe she’s visiting a loved one, they might be injured or on their deathbed. Either way, a reunion would not be appropriate.

After 5 minutes of searching, I decide to give up the chase. By this time her scent has disappeared, I have lost her again. Maybe I need to let go, perhaps I need to keep her in the past. I’m ashamed to say that I have hopes of possibly seeing her because this was at the hospital that I work at. As messed up as it sounds, I hope she returns.

Guess I’ll leave that up to fate…

Leave a Reply

